Baseball Hall Of Fame Class Of 2018

By: Brad Shepard

Saturday, July 28, 2018

The legends of America’s pastime will soon take their rightful place in history as they are inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2018.


The class is headlined by Chipper Jones, Vladimir Guerrero, Jim Thome, Alan Trammel, Jack Morris and Trevor Hoffman.  This is the first six-man Baseball Hall of Fame class since 2014.


There is perhaps no bigger name in this year’s class than Chipper Jones.  Jones will be in a rare class in the Baseball Hall of Fame, as he becomes only the 17th third baseman ever inducted.  The last third basemen inducted was Wade Boggs, in 2005.  Jones had a career batting average of .303 and hit 468 home runs over the course of his career.  He won a World Series with the Atlanta Braves in 1995 and was the National League MVP in 1999.


Jim Thome was exceptional in his own right.  He was a powerhouse hitter and his 612 home runs still rank eighth on Major League Baseball’s all-time list.  The Baseball Hall of Fame announced this year that Thome's plaque will not feature the team's Chief Wahoo logo.  Instead, it will feature the "C" logo.  Next season, the Indians uniforms will no longer feature the Chief Wahoo logo based on an evolving consensus view of Native American logos in baseball. 


The inductions will be televised on the MLB Network, live from Cooperstown, on July 29th at 1:30 PM ET.